How Our Course Works
If this is your first (or 50th!) time to take defensive driving, you may have a question or two about how the whole thing works. Hopefully, the answers you’re looking for can be found in the list below. On the other hand, if you have an “IAQ” (Infrequently Asked Question), you can always talk to a human.
Our TDLR approval means that completion of our course will get a ticket dismissed in any court in the G.S.O.T. (Great State of Texas).
Not at all, so relax! You’ll only have to pass a short, multiple-choice quiz at the end of each unit, and you can take them as many times as you need. Learn More
By state law in Texas, a defensive driving course must be six hours long. That’s why it makes sense to take it on line. You can start and stop as often as you like. After all, who’s got six hours to sit in a classroom?
Our basic text and video course is only $25.00, the lowest price available by law. If you want to make things really easy, you can upgrade to our 100% video course for just a few dollars more!
Our course is fully approved by the TDLR and our course provider number is CP280. Whatever course you choose, make sure it has the TDLR “Stamp of Approval.” If you don’t, the court won’t accept your certificate and you’ll wind up doing this all over again!
Check out a copy of our license, or you could head directly to the TDLR website and search for “CP280.”
By state law in Texas, a driver is allowed to dismiss a ticket with defensive driving once every 12 months. Follow that rule and you can take it as often as you like!
By state law in Texas, a defensive driving course must cover topics including traffic rules, laws, signage, and driving safety. Much of this information you may already know, but rules do change over time. Besides, it’s probably been a minute since you took drivers ed, and a little refresher probably couldn’t hurt! Learn More
By state law in Texas, a driver can only dismiss a ticket with defensive driving once every 12 months. A copy of your driving record is the court’s way of making sure you’re not trying to game the system. Not sure where to get yours? Relax! You can order one from us when you register for the course. Our course/driving record bundle makes things easy!
Absolutely, and there’s no more convenient way to get defensive driving done. Our course is optimized for desktop, tablet, and mobile. You can even switch from device to device, making getting this thing done as convenient as possible.
Of course not! You may have to take it for your employer or you may want to so you can save money on your car insurance.
Absolutely, especially since Texas allows you to “double-dip.”
After your course, you will receive two completion certificates. One is for the court and the other for your insurance provider. You’ll save money by not paying your ticket and will keep saving money on your insurance premiums for the next three years. Heck, you may even wind up making money on the deal!
Got More Texas Defensive Driving Questions?
If you didn’t get the answer you needed here, we have even more ways to quench your quandaries:
- Talk to a Human
- Check out our VIDEO FAQ post
- Jump to our YouTube Channel